Close search results
Close search results

Dragon Age:

Play YouTube video

Play OverviewPlay Overview

Dragon Age: Inquisition (2014) is an action role-play game with an emphasis on combat and player choices, and a sequel to Dragon Age: Origins and Dragon Age II. You once again play a hero in the medieval fantasy world of Thedas, exploring the world and using magical abilities to heal dangerous rifts in the world. It stands out for how it evolves the combat but returns to the original games' grand scale to create a new chapter in the world's narrative.

Against the backdrop of war, and building on the stories and locations of previous Dragon Age material, you play the sole survivor of a blast that tore open a hole in the veil between the physical and spiritual worlds. Marked with a symbol that lets you close these tears in reality, you set out on a quest to save the world before it falls into ruin, rising to the head of the Inquisition and defeating an ancient Darkspawn intent on becoming a God Emperor. Along the way, you fight monsters and enemies and talk to the many characters you meet to create your own adventure.

As in the previous games, you explore the land and fight monsters and enemy forces, meeting and recruiting characters along the way and making choices about what to say and do. It uses largely the same combat system as Dragon Age II, with an emphasis on strategy. You can pause time to arrange your party members and assign actions for them to perform and making tactical choices is essential. When talking to characters, you can choose from a variety of responses. Say one thing and characters you meet can join your party, but another response can turn them into a new enemy. Each person's opinion of you is affected by your dialogue choices and actions, meaning no two play-throughs are the same.

The result is a game that Marries tactical combat with a wide-reaching and expansive fantasy epic to create the ultimate Dragon Age game. It offers a chance to inhabit a fantastical world while making strategic combat choices and meaningful story decisions that shape the course of your adventure and the entire world.

Our examiner, Andy Robertson, first checked Dragon Age: Inquisition 4 weeks ago. It was re-examined by Jo Robertson and updated 3 weeks ago.
Kids not old enough for this yet? There are lots of games similar to Dragon Age: Inquisition. Here are some similar younger-rated games:

Play StylePlay Style

This is an Action and Role-Play game with Adventure, Fighting and Narrative elements. You can play this by yourself or as a 4-player online game. Dragon Age: Inquisition is the first and currently only game in the series to support four-player online co-op. However, this only offers a side game where each team member is given a specific objective to complete.

You can play this game in the following styles:


Play Time: This game will take between 33 hours and 73 hours to complete. The myriad side quests and extra details in the games allow you to spend many hours away from the main plot, greatly increasing the game's length and letting you play for over an hour at a time. If you've not had as much experience in the genre, you may also find some areas take longer to beat.

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Rated PEGI 18 for Violence and Bad Language. Game is set in a fantasy medieval environment and involves the use of weapons commensurate with the period and includes, but not limited to swords, single and double headed battle axes, bow and arrows, large sledgehammers and cross bows. Characters, such as Mages, utilise energy-type weapons which emit electrical discharges. In combat against an enemy character, each blow or arrow strike will cause a large splash blood effect. In a melee, this will seen repeatedly. The strongest and most graphic violence is seen in the game's cinematic sections. For example, there is a close-up view of a female character who has a knife placed against her throat and it is then drawn across her throat, causing a gaping wound and a torrent of blood emerges, this is accompanied by the sounds of gurgling from the victim. There is also the infrequent use of the sexual expletive ‘*!@?*’ and derivations of the word.
Users Interact: The game enables players to interact and communicate with each other, so may expose players to language usually associated with older rated games.

Rated for younger players in Australia. Rated Mature Accompanied (MA 15+) for Strong Fantasy Violence and Sexual References.

Skill Level

12+ year-olds usually have the required skill to enjoy this game. Still, it's important for parents and guardians to consider the maturity required to process the game content. It's also important to ensure children understand in-game purchases and have spending limits set-up. The game is quite complex and requires you to manage lots of different systems. The ability to form an overall strategy in combat, while under pressure, is also a useful skill.

Account Rating

  • You need PlayStation Plus to play online with PlayStation 3.
  • You need be 18-years-old to to subscribe to Xbox Live Gold for online play, but can then configure family accounts for younger players to play online with Xbox One.
  • You need be 18-years-old to subscribe to PlayStation Plus for online play, but can create sub-accounts for younger players of 7-years or older to play online with PlayStation 4.


Dragon Age: Inquisition usually costs £14.99 to £34.99.

Dragon Age: Inquisition

XBox Store Xbox One £14.99
Steam Store PC £34.99
PlayStation Store PS4 £17.99
There are the following additional costs associated with this game:
  • In-Game Loot Boxes: Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience. These include in-game purchases of random items (known as 'loot boxes') that offer a chance of getting rare/higher-value items although common/lower-value items are more frequent.
  • You need a subscription to play online:
    • You need Xbox Live Gold to play online with Xbox 360.
    • You need to purchase a PlayStation Plus subscription to play online with PlayStation 4.
    • You need to purchase a Xbox Live Gold subscription to play online with Xbox One.
You can buy additional story content for the game, but this is included in the Game of the Year Edition. The Deluxe Edition includes the game and some additional cosmetic items.

In addition, you can buy Platinum, a currency which is used in the multiplayer mode.

There have been three games in the main series, which were released on consoles and PC:
  • Dragon Age: Origins (2009) PC, PlayStation 3, and Xbox 360
  • Dragon Age II (2010) PC, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360
  • Dragon Age: Inquisition (2014) PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One

There have also been several spin-offs and tie-in games:
  • Dragon Age: Journeys (2009) Web Browser
  • Dragon Age Legends (2011) Web Browser
  • Heroes of Dragon Age (2013) Android, iOS
  • Dragon Age: The Last Court (2014) Web Browser 
It's important to set up your accounts and devices appropriately. More information is on our Financial Resources page.

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 18/11/2014, updated in 2015

Out Now: PC, PS3, PS4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One

Skill Rating: 12+ year-olds

Players: 1 (4 online)

Genres: Action, Role-Play (Adventure, Fighting and Narrative)

Accessibility: 23 features

Components: 3D Third-Person

Developer: Bioware (@Bioware)

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us