Close search results
Close search results

Minecraft: Story Mode

Play YouTube video
Please enter a valid email address
Please choose a platform
How young was your child when they first played this?
How does your child play this? Alone, with friends, with family? How did they discover it and what kept them coming back for more?
:   :
To verify your input please enter your email to create an account.

Play OverviewPlay Overview

Minecraft: Story Mode (2015) is a point-and-click narrative adventure set in the Minecraft universe where Jessie, an inexperienced adventurer, sets out on a grand quest with their friends. As you watch their story unfold, you make choices that affect the way the narrative unfolds across the episodes. It stands out for the unusual setting, self-referential humour, and care put into each detail of the story.

The story consists of two seasons of episodic storytelling that follow Jesse as they go from an inexperienced dreamer to a great adventurer. Season One's story follows Jesse's escapades with the Order of the Stone, a group of seasoned warrior protectors of the land. Season Two follows on, as Jesse and their friends find a mysterious Structure Block on a sunken temple.

Play involves taking to characters to learn about the story and making choices that affect the trajectory of not only that episode but also of the subsequent ones, creating a branching narrative with different twists and turns. Lots of the game is spent watching the action play out through beautifully animated interactive scenes and sequences. the game was also released on Netflix, where the choices were reduced but each scene was pre-rendered with better graphics.

Although very hard to play now (as detailed in the costs section), the result is a game that uses the Minecraft world to tell a novel and compelling story, complete with emotion, humour, and high-stakes action.

Our examiner, Andy Robertson, first checked Minecraft: Story Mode 10 months ago. It was re-examined by Ellen Robertson and updated 4 months ago.
Kids not old enough for this yet? There are lots of games similar to Minecraft: Story Mode. Here are some similar younger-rated games:

Play StylePlay Style

This is an Adventure, Narrative and Point-and-Click game. This is a single-player game.

You can play this game in the following styles:


Play Time: This game will take between 10 hours and 14 hours to complete. This is the time to play through the first season, the only one currently playable, once. To see every possibility you need to play through multiple times, increasing the total play time.

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Rated PEGI 12 for Bad Language. The violence depicted in this game is non-realistic. When an enemy character is hit it will transform into white pixellated squares and disappear. Episode 1 contains the use of offensive language: ‘ass’, ‘crap’, and ‘*!@?*’.

Rated for younger players in the US. Rated ESRB EVERYONE 10+ for Fantasy Violence and Mild Language.
Rated PG for Langauge, Threat, and Violence by the BBFC for the Netflix release.

Skill Level

7+ year-olds usually have the required skill to enjoy this game. Still, it's important for parents and guardians to consider the maturity required to process the game content. Providing you can follow the story and cope with the quick reaction elements, you can enjoy this game.


Minecraft: Story Mode

Switch Store Switch -
PlayStation Store PS4 -
XBox Store Xbox One -
Steam Store PC -
App Store Mac Unavailable On Digital Store
There are no additional in-game purchases, loot boxes, adverts or subscription costs.
Playing Minecraft: Story mode is far less easy than buying the disc or downloading the game, as most of season two is now totally unavailable.

When Telltale went out of business and another company started trading under the name, the rights to the game were lost so you can't download the game or any of the episodes anymore. Even if you get a physical copy of either game, the discs only have the first episode of each season installed, with the rest of the episodes unavailable to play or download. This means that apart from the first episode of each season the games are now unplayable even if you have a disc, although there are many videos on YouTube of both games.

This is with one major exception: the first season got a second physical release. Minecraft: Story Mode: The Complete Adventure has all eight episodes of season one installed on the disc (or cartridge in the case of Switch) and is currently the only way to play through either season in its entirety unless you already have the episodes downloaded. 

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 13/10/2015, updated in 2017

Out Now: Amazon Fire, Android, Apple TV, Mac, PC, PS3, PS4, Switch, Wii U, Xbox 360, Xbox One and iOS

Skill Rating: 7+ year-olds

Players: 1

Genres: Adventure, Narrative and Point-and-Click

Accessibility: 13 features

Components: 3D Third-Person

Developer: Mojang (@Mojang)

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us