Close search results
Close search results
Play YouTube video

Play OverviewPlay Overview

The Elder Scrolls (2011) is a series of action role-playing games that take you to detailed open worlds with free-form gameplay. The series has sold more than 58 million copies.

Each game takes place in Tamriel, during a pre-medieval period that includes a Roman-like Empire, Tolkein style monsters, magic and limited technology. You play a hero that rises to defeat a malevolent being or an antagonistic army.

Since debuting with Arena in 1994, the series has produced a total of five main games
  • The Elder Scrolls: Arena (1994)
  • The Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall (1996) with a deeper plot and character classes.
  • The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind (2002) with a more modular approach to expansion on PC and Xbox
  • The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (2006) with a tighter storyline and improved AI on PC and Xbox 360
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (2011) on PC, Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4
  • The Elder Scrolls Online (2012) on PC, Mac, Xbox One and PlayStation 4

In The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim you are free to roam the wilderness, dungeons, caves, cities, towns, fortresses, and villages on foot or by horse. There is a main quest although you can decide how closely you stick to it. The world is populated by wildlife, creatures and characters you can interact with. The characters can provide or deny quests and items depending on how you treat them.

As you go you develop your character with combat, magic, and stealth. When you have enough skills you level up and choose a new improvement. Along with finding items and weapons, this enabled you to enhance your fighting ability. It's a game that players enjoy as much for the adventures that happen through open play as the main story.

Our examiner, Andy Robertson, first checked The Elder Scrolls 4 years ago. It was re-examined by Jo Robertson and updated a year ago.
Kids not old enough for this yet? There are lots of games similar to The Elder Scrolls (Series). Here are some similar younger-rated games:

Play StylePlay Style

This is an Adventure and Role-Play game with Action, Fighting, Narrative, Shooting and Simulation elements. This is a single-player game.


Play Time: This game will take between 30 hours and 100 hours to complete. Although you can complete the main story quests in these games quite quickly, exploring the world will absorb tens of hours.


This game is good if you want to:

This game has helped players develop their Society as part of the following pathways:

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Skyrim is rated PEGI 18 due to depictions of gross violence towards human characters, depictions of apparently motiveless killing to multiple innocents, and depictions of violence towards the vulnerable and defenceless. This game features frequent depictions of gross violence towards human-like characters. As the player you are able to decapitate and dismember humans, all these attacks are paired with strong blood/gore. The same gross violence can be inflicted onto multiple innocent civilians, with the exception of children who take no damage from attacks. In some quests there are depictions of violence to the vulnerable and innocent, for example, there is a quest where the player is told to kill one of three humans, one of them is a criminal and the others two are innocent, all three are tied up with bags on their head, as the player you have the ability to kill all three regardless of their innocence.

Expansion for 'The Elder Scrolls Online: Tamriel Unlimited': In line with the base game and previous expansions, players are able to attack multiple innocent civilian bystanders, as well as vulnerable or defenceless human characters who are unable to fight back or flee.

Rated for younger players in Australia. Rated Mature Accompanied (MA 15+) for Violence, Strong Horror Themes.

Skill Level

10+ year-olds usually have the required skill to enjoy this game. Still, it's important for parents and guardians to consider the maturity required to process the game content. It's also important to ensure children understand in-game purchases and have spending limits set-up.

Our Game Pathways reveal how 37-year-olds play this game:


The Elder Scrolls usually costs £9.99 to £49.99. 

The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind

Steam Store PC £12.99

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Steam Store PC £12.99

The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition Deluxe

Steam Store PC £14.99

The Elder Scrolls Online

Steam Store PC £15.99

The Elder Scrolls Online: Necrom

Steam Store PC £25.49
Steam Store Mac £25.49

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Special Edition

Steam Store PC £34.99

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim VR

Steam Store PC £49.99

The Elder Scrolls

PlayStation Store PS4 -
There are the following additional costs associated with this game:
  • In-Game Purchases: Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience.
  • In-Game Pass: Purchase a season/battle pass to gain access to limited in-game purchases, reward items and other aspects of the game.
These games have additional content and the option to buy Season Pass access. The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim had three expansions Dawnguard, Hearthfire, and Dragonborn. These are included in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim – Legendary Edition.

On Switch Skyrim unlocks content via purchasing physical amiibo figures separately. 
It's important to set up your accounts and devices appropriately. More information is on our Financial Resources page.

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 11/11/2011, updated in 2017

Price: 70% off

Out Now: PC, PS3, PS4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One

Skill Rating: 10+ year-olds

Players: 1

Genres: Adventure, Role-Play (Action, Fighting, Narrative, Shooting and Simulation)

Accessibility: 2 features

Components: 3D Third-Person, Day and Night and Open World

Developer: Bethesda Studios (@BethesdaStudios)

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us