Close search results
Close search results
Play YouTube video

Play OverviewPlay Overview

Diablo IV (2023), the latest game in the Diablo series, is an action role-playing game where you fight against an ancient evil. You explore dungeons and ruins, fight off enemies, grow in strength, and collect different items to power up your character. It stands out for the freedom to create a unique hero by experimenting with different weapons, items, and magical abilities.

When Lilith, an ancient demon, and her army of hellish creatures threaten Sanctuary, the home of humanity, you rise up as a hero to fight back and defeat the demonic forces. You trek across the land, fighting off monsters to grow in might, and take on hordes of demons and fierce enemies. You gather rare artefacts that enhance your strength and give you magical abilities, until eventually you're powerful enough to take on Lilith herself and free the land of evil.

You choose your character from several different classes, all offering different strengths and weaknesses in combat. Play involves exploring randomly-generated dungeons and ruins, taking on countless foes and defeating them with weapons and abilities to level up, increasing your power. You gather loot from the enemies you kill and the places you visit, and can use it to add upgrades to your character, granting them new powers and powers depending on their class and the item. Experimenting with both classes and upgrades to discover exciting and unusual builds is essential to overcoming the seemingly insurmountable odds.

The result is a game where you have near-limitless ways to create your own unique hero through both the multiple classes and the multitude of items and upgrades available. Experimenting with different combinations and ways to fight, then using the perfect character in ambitious and ingenious ways to destroy the hordes of demons opposing you is where the fun lies.

The series spans several games:
  • Diablo (1997) on PC, PlayStation and Mac.
  • Diablo II (2000) on PC and Mac.
  • Diablo III (2012) PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Switch, Xbox One.
  • Diablo III: Eternal Collection (2017) Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One
  • Diablo II Resurrected (2021) Switch, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PC.
  • Diablo IV (2023) PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PC.

Our examiner, Ben Kendall, first checked Diablo IV 10 months ago. It was re-examined by Jo Robertson and updated 8 months ago.
Kids not old enough for this yet? There are lots of games similar to Diablo IV. Here are some similar younger-rated games:

Play StylePlay Style

This is an Action and Role-Play game with Fighting and Narrative elements. You can play with 1 to 2 players in the same room or as a 4-player online game. You can team up to play through the game with friends co-operatively, working together with different heroes to advance. In addition, you can play in teams of up to four and compete against rival teams to defeat and loot the most enemies in a dedicated competitive team-versus-team multiplayer mode.

Cross-Play: Play across consoles and PC.

Only the console versions support local multiplayer.

You can play this game in the following styles:


Play Time: This game will take between 15 hours and 20 hours to complete. Although it only takes about 18 hours on average to beat the story, once you've finished it there are still hundreds of hours of content, like new dungeons, challenges, missions, and items to collect, left to discover.

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Rated PEGI 18 for Graphic Violence. This game contains infrequent depictions of graphic violence towards human-like characters. The most notable examples occur in the game's cutscenes, in particular a scene in which a man is being eaten alive by wolves. His skin is torn off his back while he screams and whimpers in pain. Strong blood effects and injury detail are present, including a dismembered finger which is spurting blood onto the floor. Another cutscene depicts a man being lifted into the air by an unknown force and then his limbs being snapped and broken. Violence during gameplay is less strong but does include realistic impacts, sight of blood, and characters limply falling to the floor. Gameplay violence is shown from a distant top-down perspective. There are gory images, in the aftermath of violence, including sight of decaying and mutilated bodies. The game also features some bad language, including '*!@?*', 'bloody' and '*!@?*'.
Users Interact: The game enables players to interact and communicate with each other, so may expose players to language usually associated with older rated games.

Rated for younger players in Australia. Rated Mature Accompanied (MA 15+) for Strong Fantasy Themes and Strong Fantasy Violence.

Skill Level

14+ year-olds usually have the required skill to enjoy this game. Still, it's important for parents and guardians to consider the maturity required to process the game content. You need to react quickly to enemies and attacks, and there's lots of strategy and decision-making in choosing the best items and upgrades for your characters out of the many options available.

Account Rating

  • You need be 18-years-old to to subscribe to Xbox Live Gold for online play, but can then configure family accounts for younger players to play online with Xbox One or Xbox Series X|S.
  • You need be 18-years-old to subscribe to PlayStation Plus for online play, but can create sub-accounts for younger players of 7-years or older to play online with PlayStation 4 or PlayStation 5.


Diablo IV usually costs £69.99 to £99.99.

Diablo IV - Digital Deluxe Edition

XBox Store Xbox X|S £89.99
XBox Store Xbox One £89.99
PlayStation Store PS5 £89.99
PlayStation Store PS4 £89.99

Diablo IV - Standard Edition

XBox Store Xbox X|S £69.99
XBox Store Xbox One £69.99
PlayStation Store PS5 £69.99
PlayStation Store PS4 £69.99

Diablo IV - Ultimate Edition

XBox Store Xbox X|S £99.99
XBox Store Xbox One £99.99
PlayStation Store PS5 £99.99
PlayStation Store PS4 £99.99

Diablo IV

Steam Store PC -
There are the following additional costs associated with this game:
  • In-Game Purchases: Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience.
  • You need a subscription to play online:
    • You need to purchase a PlayStation Plus subscription to play online with PlayStation 4 or PlayStation 5.
    • You need to purchase a Xbox Live Gold subscription to play online with Xbox One or Xbox Series X|S.
There are three editions of the game you can purchase: the Standard Edition; Digital Deluxe Edition; and Ultimate Edition. Each one comes with the base game, then some extra cosmetic content. You can pay to unlock the content regardless of what version you get.

In addition, you can buy in-game currency called Platinum which is used to buy cosmetic items. 
It's important to set up your accounts and devices appropriately. More information is on our Financial Resources page.

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 05/06/2023

Out Now: PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One and Xbox X|S

Skill Rating: 14+ year-olds

Players: 1-2 (4 online)

Genres: Action, Role-Play (Fighting and Narrative)

Accessibility: 40 features

Components: 2D Overhead

Developer: Blizzard Ent (@Blizzard_Ent)

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us